2012 JK Tyre –FMSCI National Racing Championship set to flag off

It’s that time of the year that all motorsport fans were waiting for! The prestigious JK Tyre –FMSCI National Racing Championship 2012 is all set to flag off at the Kari Motor Speedway from July 7-8, 2012. Currently in its 16th successful successive year, this year the championship promises action and speed like never before.

Almost 100 seasoned and new drivers will be seen across different categories- JK Tyre-VW Polo R Cup, Indian Junior Touring Cars, Indian Touring Cars. The Formula LGB 4 (earlier known as Formula LGB Swift) will be seen in action from Round 2 with 30 new cars lining up in the grid. Spread over six rounds with the first two rounds at the Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore and the remaining four at the Madras Motor Race Track in Sriperumbudur, the championship will see bumper to bumper action with drivers battling it out for the coveted title.

In an ongoing endeavour to raise the bar of the championship every year, this time the championship will witness faster cars. In the third season of JK Tyre-VW Polo R Cup, Polo Cars with petrol engines will be introduced making the car faster and more powerful. An international driver- Diego Duez sponsored by JK Tyre will be seen in action in this category. This will be his first racing experience at an Indian track with Indian drivers. Alisha Abdullah is the only girl driver on the grid and going by her past performances she surely will prove to be a tough contestant for the boys.

The Indian Touring Cars and the Indian Junior Touring Cars which attracts the largest number of spectators will have over 40 seasoned drivers lining up on the grid.  This year, the Indian Touring Car Category will be seen racing on Slick tyres.

 The Formula LGB 4 category remains the most economical single seater racing available anywhere across the world. A fresh set of cars have been added to the grid this season and investments have been made to ensure stability and similarity between machines. The Formula LGB 4 will be flagged off from the second round of the championship which is scheduled in the last weekend of July in Coimbatore.

 Mr. Sanjay Sharma, Head-Motorsport – JK Tyre & Industries Limited said, “We are all set to witness another season of pulsating action with a strong presence of cars across categories. We’ve made certain amendments in order to make the event more competitive and are sure that motorsport lovers will enjoy all the action.

Year on year, we have kept improving the standards of our championship be it in terms of technology or management. With faster and more powerful cars this year, we can expect a lot of nail-biting action on the track. A record 30 Formula LGB 4 cars will make their debut in Round 2 of the championship while 20 drivers will complete the grid for the JK Tyre- VW Polo R- Cup. We are glad that the Championship continues to generate sustained interest among racing enthusiasts.”

With several new teams making their entry this season, participants of the JK Tyre-FMSCI National Racing Championship will represent teams like Coimbatore Racing, Performance Racing, Tiger Sports India, Motorev India, Prime Racing, FRK Racing, Rad Racing, N1 Racing, Mega Racing Beema Sports, Eram Group Sports Club, Motorev India, FRK Racing and Game Over.

New drivers in the 2012 championship will look at competing with last year’s winners and other seasoned drivers namely N Leelakrishnan, V Rajvirdhan, Feroze Khan, Diljith Shaji, Vishnu Prasad and Ameya Walavalkar will look at dominating the proceedings this year too.

The JK Tyre-FMSCI National Racing Championship has been the breeding ground for drivers like Narain Karthikeyan, Karun Chandhok, Armaan Ebrahim, Aditya Patel, Vishnu Prasad who have proved their mettle in the international arena as well.


About The Author

Number of Entries : 1175

Leave a Comment

Scroll to top